CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup: Sekajugo, Ocen dropped as McKinstry names Cranes XI for Somalia game

first_imgThe Cranes defeated Burundi 2-1 in their opening game. (PHOTO/Courtesy)CECAFA Senior Challenge CupSomalia vs UgandaStarTimes Stadium, LugogoMonday, 09-12-2019 @4pmCranes head coach Johnathan McKinstry has named the starting XI for Uganda’s second Group A match against Somalia in the CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup.The North Irishman has made only two changes to the team that started in the 2-1 win over Burundi on Saturday afternoon.Wakiso Giants FC forward Viane Sekajugo and Police FC midfielder Ben Ocen are the players who have lost their starting berths.Replacing the two is Busoga United’s Joel Madondo and URA FC pacey winger Joachim Ojera.The rest of the team remains unchanged as KCCA goalkeeper Charles Lukwago is maintained in the goalkeeping role.Vipers SC Paul Willa on the right-back, Mustafa Kizza on the left, John Revita and skipper Halid Lwaliwa in the central defence, as it was against Burundi.URA FC Midfielder Shafiq Kagimu returns to his central midfield role.Proline FC player Bright Anukani and KCCA FC playmaker Allan Okello are the other offensive midfielders at the center of the park.Vipers SC striker Fahad Bayo will continue to lead the attacking force as he hopes to add another goal to the one he scored on Saturday.Five Uganda Cranes players Charles Lukwago, Paul Willa, Mustafa Kizza, John Revita, and Allan Okello were part of the team that defeated Somalia 4-1 in the CHAN 2020 a few months ago.Somalia head into the game joint second in group A following their 0-0 draw with Djibouti on Saturday.The other game on Monday will see Burundi take on Eritrea at 1:30pm.After the game against Somalia, Uganda will next face Ethiopia and Djibouti.Uganda Cranes Starting XI: Charles Lukwago (GK) (KCCA FC), Paul Willa (Vipers SC), Mustafa Kizza (KCCA FC), John Revita (KCCA FC), Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers SC), Shafiq Kagimu (URA FC), Bright Anukani (Proline FC), Allan Okello (KCCA FC), Joachim Ojera (URA FC), Fahad Bayo (Vipers SC), Joel Madondo (Busoga United)Subs: Joel Mutakubwa (GK) (Kyetume FC), Musitafa Mujuzi (Proline FC), Paul Mbowa (URA FC), Karim Watambala (Vipers SC), Steven Mukwala (Maroons FC), Muzamiru Mutyaba (KCCA FC), Viane Sekajugo (Wakiso Giants), Nicolas Kasozi (KCCA FC), Ben Ocen (Police FC)The CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup results so farGroup A-Djibouti 0-0 Somalia-Uganda 2-1 BurundiGroup B-Zanzibar 1-1 Sudan-Kenya 1-0 TanzaniaComments Tags: Ben OcenCECAFA Senior Challenge CupFahad BayoJoachim OjeraJoel MadondoJohnathan McKinstryUganda CranesViane Sekajugolast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *